Newbie: AI questions

Hiya,

I am new to unreal engine, so please pardon my vocabulary as I am quite new to some of the terminology. I have a pet AI character that follows the player character around, what I want to add to the AI is to allow the pet to detect/sense an object and run to the object as well as alert the player that the pet has found that object. For example, the pet AI can help the player find a health berry bush that when collected will improve player character health and stamina. What are the steps involve to allow this type of action to the AI character? Also, if the player character decides not to be bother with interacting with the object, how do I get the pet AI to continue following the character? I hope that makes sense…:slight_smile:

From a design standpoint, I would use a state to determine what the AI should be doing. If the player moves X distance from the AI, then the AI should switch states to return to the player. If the AI is X distance from a bush, then the AI should switch states to alert the player by moving towards it.

For determining AI distance from the bush, you could use a collision sphere that uses OnOverlap to check the overlapped actor’s ability to cast to the object you are looking for. You could also use a custom collision channel for overlapping with interactable objects in the world, provided you will have other objects that the pet should also “find”.

AI distance from the player can be checked by getting the vector length of the difference in the two object’s world location.

You can use behavior trees and the Environment Query System.
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/AI/BehaviorTrees/index.html
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/AI/EnvironmentQuerySystem/index.html

With BT and EQS, you can do all you just described.
I will warn you have BT has a learning curve, so take your time.