New to Unreal Engine and have a few questions.

Hi guys. I work as a software engineer and have been wanting to get into game development for a while now. Firstly, I know that game development is not a quick process by any means, but I do have a few questions that I hope you all can help me with.

Say someone has all of the required assets (environments, character models, etc) and a programming background:

1. How long would it take a single person to create a basic solo game prototype with twitch combat using spells, melee, archery? How about a team of 3?
  2. How about a multiplayer version of the same design? Solo and team of 3 as well.

I am talking bare bones . No equipment, no inventory, no loot; nothing but basic combat.

Obviously, a full game design takes a long time but I am looking for a quick win to keep morale up as we expand. My friends and I really fell in love with Darkfall Online (the original, not this DFUW ****), and we have been discussing what it would take to create something that resembles that game. With the options available to the public nowadays (Unreal Engine, Unity, etc), it seems actually feasible for a small group. The above mentioned combat would be the first piece, and over time we would try our hand at adding in additional mechanics and content.

I can’t really answer your question, I would however say you know your team’s capability better than I do. It’s best to assess what you have against what you want to achieve, you don’t even really need the assets to start out. If the programmer (which seems to be you) has never touched UE4 and the others haven’t learnt blueprints, then there’s a starting point, both are central to achieving anything in the engine behind the art that makes it look good. Only when you’re somewhat proficient with the engine and the supporting documentation, can you assess the likely timeline and this goes for all the engines available.