New to UE4

Hey guys.
Not sure where to put this thread, so general discussion might be the best place.
So, i am new to UE4 and to game development in general. I have looked at some tutorials, but have a few questions i hope you can answer.

First; If i would want to, lets say some time in the future, create a game like skyrim (obv this is too big for one person, but its just an example), where do you design the cities / forrests / mountains?
Is this something you do inside the UE4, or do you need “design-programs” to make these assets? Also, the landscape, do you create an entire landscape in UE4?

Second; I have been searching a bit, and i see you can program UE4 in js. Would you recommend using js or c++?

You’ve probably heard these questions many times before, but it’s late in Norway now and im too lazy to search through the forums before i go to bed.

Thanks in advance,

Welcome to the community :slight_smile:

You definitely need to look at third party design software. You can only do very basic shape creation within UE4 itself. Thing slike Maya, 3DSMax, or Blender (for a free alternative) are a good starting point :slight_smile:

Landscapes - you -can- create them in UE4… but you’re probably going to have a bad time :stuck_out_tongue: Software like World Machine, or Scape (free) are great starting points there.

C++ is definitely the language of choice for programming in UE4.

Best of luck!

Could you post the link to that Scape software? I am having a hard time to find it…

Blueprints are a great way to get up and running quickly.

Start with the documentation

Apologies for the delayed reply. Been a bit ill.

Hello,

I’m also new here and was thinking about starting a thread just like this, so I think I’ll keep the forum a bit cleaner and introduce myself here. :slight_smile: