New to Game Development

Hello Guys!

I am NOOB, a newbie, a beginner in Game Development. I have experience in Programming such as VB.Net, C#.Net, HTML, PHP, Java Script, CSS. Although I have experience in programming, I’m not a professional I think. I mostly used programming with Hardware (Arduino, Atmel, Raspberry Pi), creating platform and GUI for the Hardware. I want to try something new and reading on magazines and internet articles I found the Unreal Engine.

Can I suddenly jump on learning Unreal Engine? or is there a proper procedure to follow to before learning Unreal Engine?

If I can learn it without any prerequisite, where should I start first? Is there a proper tutorial(PD or Video) I can follow for beginners like me?

I need your guidance and opinion!

Thank You!

hi, welcome to the forum and UE4:)

there isn’t really any proper procedure or anything and yes you can just jump right in.

well first I would recommend you download all the examples and samples from the learn tab in the launcher, that way you can take them apart and see how things are put together as well as build on or experiment with them…ect.

you should also take a look at the documentation and the unreal engine youtube channel, they have lots of info and you should be able to learn about pretty much everything related to using the engine from those links.

others will probably have more suggestions as well but that’s all I can think of right now, oh and there is this forum and the UE4 answerhub if you stuck on anything.

hope that helps:)