New To Game Development And Everything Surrounding It

Hello all,

I’m Stephen, a 15 based in Scotland and my dream is to pursue Game Development as I used to make small mods for a game called Minecraft and some things there limited me of making my very own creation. So I’ve turned to making my own game. Before I get any feed back on marketing, my skills for that part of the games industry and in general is good. I have basic programming knowledge or know how some languages work; java and html5 and that’s about it. But I know for sure game development is what I want to do don’t question me as I cannot be bothered explaining, as long as I know I am good. But where and how did you guys start? I’ve set a challenge of 365 days for me to challenge/release my first game in that time as I plan to leave school at the end of the year. The best advice is highly appreciated.

P.S. I’m looking at 2d game development.

EDIT: I understand my first game won’t be good.

Get acquainted with the editor, and then start working, it’s best to learn as you work on a project. As you figure out what game you want to do, keep in mind what you’ll be able to accomplish within the time that you have set. After you’ve worked on it for a bit, consider based off what you’ve done so far whether your goal is realistic.