New Here

Hi Guys, my first post.

I am not a game developer/programer and really know diddly squat about games in general. Other than of course, I am an artist and make a living at creating assets. So I understand the asset pipeline fairly well. Last year I had a job with a developer who was fairly new to game development. It prompted me to DL Unity and poke around a bit so I could also add my assets into the engine and have a look at it from that perspective, and also help t answer some of his questions. Well I never got too far with it after that. But I learned that it was not all that hard to understand the basics. And this planted the seed to start to learn more about game engines.

Primarily I am a filmmaker when I am not slaving away at creating content for games and flight simulators. Have a few live action films to my credit and some animation. Which leads me to why I am here.

I can see the writing on the wall. And I see the future of filmmaking lies in the growing game development field. What I am seeing out of CryEngine is just mind blowing, though I understand it is not the best - or rather easiest - development tool out there.

My interest in game development from a producer’s perspective is more long-term. I don’t see myself learning to create a game, pretty much ever. But at some point in the future I’d like to create some titles based on my films and visa versa.

For now I do want to learn to use a game engine for visualization purposes and I would like to work this into the pipeline at my studio and even use it to create digital films. I really do see this is where things are going and I’d like to get in now and start learning.

I have a feeling that CE would be the best visual tool. However from what I have been hearing it might even be a challenge to pull those things off well with the current state of documentation/features. Seems like some nice features there but, I don’t know. Feels not so intuitive to me from tutorials so far.