New guy looking to do one thing...move objects with audio!

Hello all i am brand spanking new to this UE4 world, im not a game creator but a film maker looking to create film/videos with UE4. I want to start off by having assets/characters/shapes or things move based on audio files. Can someone point me in the right direction for a tutorial or manual link. Im not looking to do anything extravagant at the moment perhaps a simple box moving to a simple drumbeat. Any help would be appreciated.

Im a Music Composer/Producer of 20 years with a wide range of genres I like to create. Some strange stuff some mainstream. Hip-Hop, Rock, Jazz, Orchestral, EDM I just love music and want to put Visuals to it as well.

I’m a creation fanatic and get my kicks on making things out of pure thought, I can also help with Audio related things and provide audio related services. Im also quite a techy geek so for me delving into the UE4s massive system is labor of love that I have no problem getting my hands dirty in.

Video editing and Compositing is my new venture and UE4 is right on time for me.

Hey, I dunno exactly how you’d go about implementing such a system but it’s definitely doable.

I think you need to figure out just some of the technical details about how you’re going to go about syncing audio to visuals.
Is your plan to compose visuals to a specific track like a music video? Or are you trying to get something procedural? So it’ll do a certain action when an event occurs like a kick drum triggers a mesh to flatten and reform as a random example.

I think you’d be best off trying to find some way to work with MIDI data. I don’t have much experience working with MIDI outside of DAWs but I imagine you could find a way to export MIDI from a track and use that data to call functions in a blueprint script.