NEW GUY HERE! Someone please point me in the right direction?

I’m a complete noob here and am willing to learn. Have talked to a few peeps and they said I should start with UE4. I’ve just purchased it and what I want to do is make a small deserted town for starters. Can someone please lead me to the right tutorials or advice on where to start first?? Thanks everyone! :smiley:

A great place to start would be.

://www.youtube/playlist?list=PLZlv_N0_O1gaCL2XjKluO7N2Pmmw9pvhE

Welcome! :slight_smile:

-learn how to create meshes -> you can find several tutorials on youtube (when you tell me which program you use, I can post you a good video)
-take a look at the official tutorials from epic games (link above)
-when you have problems you can search for a solution in the documentation (https://docs.unrealengine/latest/INT/) or post your question into the forum
-take a look at the existing levels from epic games -> so that you get a feeling how everything was made/placed
-take a look at this site: ://www.worldofleveldesign/

For a desert town you will have to know how to create meshes, textures, particles, the level (lightning, terrain, placement,…) and when you want to add gameplay you also need blueprint experience.

Materials: ?v=lngF4VVNER4&list=PLZlv_N0_O1gbQjgY0nDwZNYe_N8IcYWS-&index=1
Meshes: depends on your 3d program -> blender, 3ds , maya
Particles: ?v=OXK2Xbd7D9w&index=1&list=PLZlv_N0_O1gYDLyB3LVfjYIcbBe8NqR8t
Level: ?v=I8WBF4AyAX4&list=PLZlv_N0_O1gak1_FoAJVrEGiLIploeF3F&index=1

Thanks Zeeker! Will do that!

Thanks ! That helps a lot!

Are you guys familiar with VGHS (Video Game High School) by Rocekt Jump/Freddie Wong?.. well myself and a few of the fans in the community have got together to create the game Field of Fire as seen in the series. It’s FPS of course. Is there anyone here keen on helping us create FoF? Our stage 1 plan is to make one map: deserted town as a MP and run that in BETA. I’d love to get in on terrain creation