New/Empty Project disk space reduction

Hi all, I am brand new to Unreal Engine so please forgive me if this is the wrong section to post this.

I start a blank empty C++ project without Starter Assets, it is over 1GB. The other project I made which has a cube and sphere in the scene is nearer 2GB.

This will actually be quite inconvenient to me because as I am learning i like to store old projects so I can see how i fixed things, but with this space I will soon have to delete old ones (or at least buy a conventional HDD and move them to it)

Is there a way to change the editor code to not include some of the files or are we stuck with huge project files forever?

thanks

Content wise, there is not much you can do.
Assets contain a lot of editor specific data which will remain there until they are “cooked” for the final packaged game.

Source wise, you can remove the .vs, binaries, intermediate and saved directories to trim things down considerably.
This will mean you have to regenerate the solution file and wait for shaders etc later, but it could free several gigabytes of space, depending on the size of your project.

thanks for clarifying this. But am i to assume from this that you cannot set UE4 to automatically drop (or not create) those derived folders and simplt rebuild them each time i need them (and maybe just auto-delete them on exit) ?

Deleting the derived/intermediate folders is going to make iteration times so slow; I doubt you’ll be able to work like that. Your only options are to not include any starter content.

Your only REAL option is to simply buy a larger HDD, or don’t be a pack rat with older projects :slight_smile:

The Unreal Build tools will only build what needs to be built and reuse whatever is in your binaries, intermediate and/or saved folders to avoid long build time.