New Developer Here. Any Suggestions?

Hello all!

I am a new developer and I’m trying to make my first video game. I am very excited, but the task itself is extremely daunting. The amount of things that can go wrong are immense, but I’m going to dedicate my time to this anyway. I believe it will be a great learning experience and if I can make my game, I would be able to walk away with pride.

Anyway, I was wondering if you guys have any tips for a newbie. I’m going to teach myself and I have already read through the manual and some video tutorials. Most of it is pretty complicated and I don’t really know what half of the stuff really means, but I will over time.

Do you guys have any suggestions for video tutorials (other than the ones by Unreal) on how I can learn the tricks of the trade? Maybe some blueprint guides so that I can make sense of what I need.

My game won’t be too complicated, all it needs is a main menu, a few cutscenes, a level selector, one talking NPC to guide the player, and level designs. I estimate that the player can complete this game within 5 minutes.

With these elements in mind, could you help point me in the right direction?

Thanks, I really appreciate it!

i started with a video game making class so that is how i got introduced to UE

i didn’t make a actual game but something super simple

try starting bit by bit with something like a parkour course with (if you want) KillZones (that is what i started with)

i think wat you are going to do is prety complicated, try somthing sympler