Networking: Am I doing this right?

I’m just getting into networking, and I’m setting up an inventory system (think: DayZ) to work with multiplayer. I think I’ve got it, but I’m not sure if my method is correct, or wasteful, or whatever, because I don’t have much experience with netcode.

Right now I’m doing the “Pick Up Item” functionality. Here’s a summary of how I did it:

1. When key is pressed on local client, server is notified that we want to pick up an item.
  2. Server-only function scans for items, gets the actor we want to pick up.
  3. Server passes this actor into a multicast function, and our player gets the same item on all clients + server.

Here’s some pseudocode of my method:

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Player presses button, calls this. Not replicated.
void InputPickUp()
{// We call the server, tell it we want to pick up an item.
ServerPickUp();
}

// Replicated to server.
void ServerPickUp()
{// Get the actor we want to pick up on the server. AItem is the class for pickups.
AItem* FoundItem = ScanForItems();

MulticastPickUp(FoundItem);
}

// Multicast replicated.
void MulticastPickUp(AItem* NewItem)
{
// Since this is called everywhere, we will get the same item on all instances of the game.
ActuallyPickUp(NewItem);
}

// Not replicated.
void ActuallyPickUp(AItem* NewItem)
{// Actually do the inventory logic.
}

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

SO… is this right way to do things? Am I causing bandwidth waste or anything? Also, is using 4 functions (client input, server, multicast, functionality) normal for networking? I’d love to get your guys’ opinions on this. Thanks in advance! :slight_smile: