[network] Create custom login system

Hi, i’m new to UE4 and i’m trying to make a login system in a dedicated server / client model.
Goal :
User launch the client with a lvl_login
Connect to the server by clicking a button
Server check login IDs
Server travel the client to the lvl_world

I made the connection

void Anplayer::login(FString name, FString pass)
{
    ClientTravel("127.0.0.1", ETravelType::TRAVEL_Relative);
}

void Agame_mode::PostLogin(APlayerController* new_player)
{
    Super::PostLogin(new_player);

new_player->ClientTravel("/Game/nebula/blueprint/lvl_world", ETravelType::TRAVEL_Relative, true);
}

Only way i found to make it work is compiling the server with the ClientTravel and the client without it.

• Why the client is calling PostLogin ? I read gamemode was only server side.

If you have any good tutorial about this, it would be helpful.

Thanks for your help.

I tried to make 2 game modes too, don’t know if this is a good way, but then how could i connect to the server with the game_mode after logging using the login_mode ?

Sorry just to make it clear: are you sure the client isn’t authoritative?

If you are 100% sure PostLogin should only be called upon the Server, then something is wrong, if not - say its just an event, expressed both for server and client, so each can handle its own logic according to the NET level - just run a series of boolean checks to ensure the appropriate client-only behavior.

Well i don’t know how it’s supposed to work, i’m new with game engines. There is different behaviours when i change the play options (single process, run as standalone game etc …) so i’m totally lost. Sometimes level is loading, sometime it’s not sometimes there is 2 client launching (but i set 1 client). Single process works when i don’t launch the server from editor, i don’t understand anything …