Need Urgent Response To This Questions!

Hello,

i been working on this little level with asset i imported from my unity project. Which is a bad idea i know but i not a modeler, and wanted some custom assets to play with instead of the ue 4 content. I have some problems with lighting of the level i will post a shot below.

ps: still trying to figure out the material stuff, so it not polished yet but if anyone want to help me with the materials that would be awesome.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent/u/100209246/Screenshot%20(13).png

I have a few questions:

1. Is it possible to use Emissive texture on my mesh as the lighting source? Instead of adding a point light or spotlight i mean.
    Can i make the glow into a light source to light up the hallway?

well let me hear your responds to this question first.

Oh and also I am a novice to this still learning the ropes, so any tips is welcome.

No, we do not support emissive lighting as we did in UE3. So you’re still adding lights for those.

As for Material tips, my big one would be to make sure Metallic is EITHER 0 or 1, and (generally) never anything in between. Decimal values in Metallic will really kill your lighting. Also, remember that most of your specularity will actually be textured via the Roughness channel these days. So if you want shininess, use a low Roughness. Finally, drop at least one reflection capture sphere to start getting reflections, but you may need to add more in high-detailed areas.

Hopefully that’s enough to get you started. Good luck!

Take a look at this thread to get some infos about the emissive lightning: https://answers.unrealengine/questions/22099/use-emissive-for-lightmass.html :wink:

"
It’s gone unfortunately. But it is going to be used with dynamic lighting as LPV gets properly integrated.