Download

Need to limit a raytrace to only hit objects overlapping a trigger volume.

So, I am currently making a game with drivable boats using the built in wheeled vehicle setup. For the most part, everything has gone rather smoothly. I have recently run into a problem of the raytraces for the wheels catching on things I don’t want them to catch on. I tried changing the start point of those raytraces, but since the value is only read at the beginning of the game, that doesn’t work. So, I figured I would limit what objects the raytrace would be able to hit. However, I don’t know how to do this. I do, however, think I know where the limiting factor should go. My question to all of you who know C++ is, what code do I need to put where to get this to work? I have no knowledge of C++ or of any coding whatsoever, so you will have to be a tad specific.

Here is a visual to help explain exactly what is the problem and what is my desired solution:

SolutionVisuals3partsmaller.jpg&stc=1

SolutionVisualssmaller.jpg&stc=1

And to make it easy to assign what objects are acting as the trigger volumes:

added_collision_object_menu_smaller.jpg&stc=1

Here is the location that I believe would be the right place to add…whatever code is needed to limit the raycast to hitting only overlapping objects. Maybe the objects would be put in an array on overlap or something? Anyway, the location of this code is in the PhysXVehicleManager.cpp

possibly_where_to_add_collision_to_raycasts_PhysXVehicleManagerCPPsmaller.jpg&stc=1

When it comes right down to it, lack of knowledge on how to fix this problem is all that is keeping me from proceeding forward with my game. I would be extremely grateful to anyone who would be able to help me out with this problem. :smiley:

This is a job for Collision Channels! Conveniently enough James Golding just wrote up a blog about these too…