Need suggestions for new hardware aimed at rendering

I need some suggestions for new hardware aimed at rendering as my desktop starts to get abit old.
What do I need to consider for the best rendering speed and performance? What experiences do you guys have with your current hardware?
I do mostly outdoor simulations and some minor inndoors environment. I also switch between Maya and Blender for modeling and composing.
Price is no problem as I have a system for moneysaving. I am by no means an hardware expert, so I hope for some advices (No hardware wars)

My current desktop:

Case: HAF932
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 680 DirectCU II OC 2GB
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K
RAM: Corsair Dominator DHX DDR3 8GB
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme B3

Are you trying to build a render machine or something you also want to work on? For example, with a render machine you could get a CPU that has an integrated GPU so you wouldn’t need a separate graphics card.

That didnt make much sense. I do outdoor simulations with lots of foliage and water. So having a powerful computer is obviously necessary :slight_smile:

Allright, I had a look around today and came up with this list:

Case: Phanteks Eclipse P400S (SSD mounts and PSU cover)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus VIII Extreme (1151)
CPU: Dont know yet
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
PSU:Evga SuperNova 1300w modular
RAM: HyperX Fury DDR4 2133Ghz 16GB
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
CPU cooler: Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Just for fun: Akasa Vegas LED strips white

Total cost: 14.928 NOK (Free shipping)
Figured out the save up time: Will only take 22 weeks with my plan.

I wouldn’t buy a 1080 yet unless you want to go into hardcore VR development.

You can do just fine with a GTX970 until the new chipsets go down in price. I’d also get a large HDD over the SSD. 500GB isn’t really enough space for a dev machine, so I’d prioritise storage over performance.