Need some help

Making a racial system where each race has different starting stats and im having trouble making it especially since there won’t be an actor to set the stats to (or at least I don’t plan on implementing one right now). I’ve made a data table and enumeration but I can’t seem to structure it so it accounts for the race the player would pick. I’m new at this and it’s completely possible I’ve messed something up. So any and all tips would be appreciated and the more detailed the better.

You can use classes, and set a main class for all your characters or actors with all races, then set a sub-class for each specific race. In your main class you can insert the common race parameter variables, and in your sub-classes you can set their default values.

Never messed with classes or sub classes at all, mind elaborating to help me understand it better?

Yes, maybe with blueprints only is not easy to understand classes, but they have classes too! If you make a new Blueprint, it should be derived from a base class, which can be Actor (AActor in C++) or Object (UObject in C++) or other classes. A new Blueprint is essentially a new class, so when you create a new Blueprint, you can choose another Blueprint that you created as a base class, instead of Actor or Object for example.
If you make a base Blueprint class for all your races and then a Blueprint that uses it as parent for each race, you can manage better what you want to do.

So for a 2d game which blueprint should I use? After a bit of research I’m not sure which one would be best, game instance seems like the right one but player state could also work it seems? And would I even need to include actors/characters/pawns in a 2d game?

I suggest you to read this documentation article: Unreal Engine 4 Terminology | Unreal Engine Documentation