Need some help figuring out a Widget that is placed in my environment.

Hello !

I must preface this question by saying that I’m quite new with UE5.

My problem is as follows:

I am trying to make a Sonar blueprint that will be set in the game world. A static object so to speak. The player will have to move their characters to that console and interact with buttons placed on the console, but their screens will never snap to the console’s screen itself.

In that Sonar BP there is a Widget dictating where, in a 1000x1000 pixel grid, a signal will spawn on a Canvas Panel.

The signals are another widget that’s basically just an image with a text slot to add/edit coordinates.

I am adding this new “WBC_Signal” widget inside a Canvas Panel slot that is empty, but I can’t seem to get anything to show on the widget itself.

I tried using a few vector data from my Signal objects that I placed in my map but I can’t seem to figure out if my problem lies with my understanding of the concept of a widget or with my maths to get the World position vector from my objects into a 2D vector 1000x1000 pixel grid where the origin is supposed to be in the middle (at 500x, 500y).

Any ideas where I should start looking ?

Hey @mantricore

May be I need to see the function you use to calculate the “Signal Location”, but things I can tell you:

• Make sure the size of your signal widget is exactly what you expect it to be, no stretching or relative to anything else. It should preserve aspect ratio with the “Console”'s widget scale.

• Depending on how you set the anchors for the Signal Widget, the calculations for its location will change. If you want to do it based on the Canvas center of its parent, assign (x: 0.5, y: 0.5) as the anchor values.

• Also, in case I understood correctly, the position shouldn’t be calculated based on 3D world space, it should be only relative to the Console’s Widget.

Thanks for the quick response @GRIM_Warlock !