Need help with replicating Yaw.

If this question is in the wrong forum or can be solved with Blueprints, please move it to the proper section.

Heyo UE Community,

I found this Project a couple hours ago for a Top Down Shooter ( GitHub - EdwardCoughlan/TwinStickShooter: Twin stick shooter starting point ) and got it working with the latest UE4 Version (was only some minor stuff to fix).

Sadly I am only learning Blueprints right now and the project is written in C++, where it also has Blueprints.

The thing is:

Moving the mouse lets the Owen Actor look around where the mouse is pointing. If I emulate a 2nd player (Dedicated Server Checkbox checked or not), then the mouse look is not being replicated. Can this only be done in C++, since it is a C++ project or can it also be done using Blueprints?

(Asking this, since I tried to use BP Replication and it somehow did not work, but I bet I just did something wrong)

Either yes or no: Can someone point me in the right direction? That would be nice.

Greetings,

Hi, I’m pretty sure your problem can be solved in Blueprints. It may have been an issue if a C++ parent class of your Blueprint would override certain settings after initiliazation, but the C++ classes in your linked project don’t do anything like this. Aside from Yaw, is movement replicated?

I think the issue may be that the Yaw that you see is only set client-side, in a way that the value not replicated. I’m not sure how Yaw is actually set, from the code you linked (haven’t downloaded the project). The best I can find is this in TwinStickShooterPlayer.cpp:

But I don’t see where the value of AimAtAngle is actually used in other cpp files, maybe its used in the level blueprint? You could try out this: In C++, ATwinStickShooterPlayerController::LookAtMouseCursor(), manually set the pawn’s actor rotation using SetActorRotation. If you can find where AimAtAngle is used in the level blueprints or pawn’s event graph, can you post a screenshot of the setup?