Need help with landscape material

Hey Guys! I’m trying to create some terrains and learn the trade on my way. I’ve learned a few basics of world machine and I’ve generated a heightmap to use in Unreal Landscape system. I’ve also created few greyscale maps or alpha masks for snow and the ground material.

But, I’m unable to achieve a material with layer blend. This is how it currently looks inside editor:

Here is the Material

World Machine setup

And here is a reference what I’m trying to achieve

I want to get that snow melting layer and expose the layer underneath which is some black material in this case.

I’m new to this stuff, trying to learn. So, please help me out.

Thank You

Generate a new weight map in world machine or just paint onto the landscape by hand -> for the material: Take a look at the landscape demo. There you can see how they made the snow/ice + rock :slight_smile:

Also take a look at this tutorial: -> Instead of the layer blend + layer node, you should just use one of them. When you use the layer nodes, you also have to give them a name (atm both are “none”)

So, I generated separate greyscale height masks in WM and imported them inside the layerInfo as snow and ground respectively. And changed my material into this

The snow layer looks blocky in few spots like this here

Why is this happening and how can I fix this?

Thank You.

I think it’s because of the resolution of your splat map :slight_smile:

e.g https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?21269-World-Machine-and-blocky-splats-UE4

“OK, so the secret sauce here is the splatmap size. For whatever reason, you should make the splat / color map around 2 to 4 times the size of the heightmap (factoring here the power of 2 e.g. 2048X2048 on a 1009 terrain) the landscape co-ord will take care of the rest (so set that to the terrain size).”

Thats means if I have a terrain heightmap of 2017 X 2017 then the color map should be 4096 X 4096 to get the proper resolution?