Download

Need help with interfaces

Hello,

I’m a Unity developer trying to dive into Unreal.

To get an interface type as a UPROPERTY I ended up with this:

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadOnly, Category = "Trigger Target")
	TScriptInterface<class ITriggerableInterface> TriggerableObject;

But: I won’t be able to pick an actor (which implements this interface) from the scene.
All I get is an asset path textfield in the details panel.

Unreal_Trigger_Path.png

I wanted to go the interface way to use my trigger object for all sorts of other objects and not just “doors” like I did before:

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadOnly)
	class ADoor* Door;	

Which would work and look like this in the details panel:

9d1a78abca96acaba26afa465255a70eccc17f6a.png

I fear that I reached a dead end now… :-/.
Still I wanted to ask whether it’s possible to achieve what I wanted: An editor slot to reference all UObjects which implement my c++ interface.
Should I have used an abstract AActor instead?

Not an expert on editor UI but I believe this all keys back to UCLASS objects (RTTI that a raw C++ interface or forward declared class will lack).

As a style preference, I generally rig a class type which is used later to create an instance.
Take a look at the usage of TSubClassOf at Can I declare a variable to hold a Widget BP Reference? - C++ Gameplay Programming - Unreal Engine Forums

Not asked, but like Unity, grid view properties can be be customized (once the object type is known) Details Panel Customization | Unreal Engine Documentation
A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements and Releases - Unreal Engine Forums

I believe this is still unsupported, and your best approach for now is to use an AActor property, and do some manual checking for interface compatibility. Not ideal I know.