Need help with a tutorial : TopDownCharacter VS Player Controller

Hello,

I am following a tutorial made by UnrealGaimeDev, about building an inventory system. I am an artist playing with Unreal Engine on my free time, so programming is not my forte.

I am stuck with this particular part of the tutorial :

At 4:06, The Inventory Syetem is cast to the TopDownBP, I want to know how to cast it to my player controller and getting it to work. I have tried it but it does not work. I have my suspicions as to why but I need help with that next step.

Here is the tutorial so far, till the end of part 4 in working order. (UE Version 4:16)

Thank You to anyone willing to help.

Use the node Get player controller as object to your Cast node, should work :slight_smile: !

Why don’t you try it and see if it works ?

Clearly, it’s not that simple, is it ? Hence why I need help.

Sorry people for the answer in French

• Un screen de ton propre BP serait pas mal.ou tu peux utiliser le site suivant pour montrer là où tu bloques: https://blueprintue.com/
  • A 4:06, j’ai pas vu de Cast et pas envie de me taper tout le tuto
  • Peu de personnes téléchargeront un tuto pour voir où tu bloques
  • Tu demandes de l’aide et tu envois bouler le gars précédent en lui disant de tester par lui même ses réponses qui en plus de mon point de vue répondent à ton problème.

Screenshot!!!

luckily for me I’m fluent in French!

My mistake, the google drive link are the tutorial project files, you will be downloading the project files.

You’re absolutely right, at 4:06 you don’t see anything, but in the following 10 seconds you do.

Thank You for the link, I will post a screenshot then. Here is the link to it :

-Update topic-

I forgot a link :

The code works fine if it’s cast to a character BP be it Third Person or Top Down or whatever you want it to be.

After viewing the tutoral, it’s at 7:00

The “Other actor” is a Character and you “cast to a chartacter” not a controller…