Need help using MIDI plugin

Hi everyone, I’m new to unreal for just a couple of months and I’m trying to develop a prototype where the application plays a melody (I’d like to specify the notes in code) in each level, but for design issues I cannot use audio files (I need to specify the notes dinamicaly), so I saw that the MIDI plugin could be an option but I have some cuestions firstly, I hope the community can help me.

Is this library able to play notes of different duration?
How can I use it correctly?
Can I use a sound similar to Piano?

Thanks for your help!! :slight_smile:

The MIDI Device Input plug-in is support for Device interaction, so you can use a MIDI keyboard, for example, to control gameplay events.

As far as playing notes, you can create your own custom Enums and Structs. I have used this before to create my own note data to read from an array of notes.

AFAIK: MIDI defines events like note on and note off. So the question is not can the library play different lengths but can you create and send MIDI events at different times :wink:

MIDI alone won’t give you a sound, it’s just a protocol to send/save notes. So you would need to create additional code/blueprints that plays a piano sound based on the MIDI events.

@dan.reynolds thanks for the tips : ) I was wondering how I might store and call a melody as a list of notes since (as far as I know) the current Epic midi implementation doesn’t support midi files. Just asking in case: do you by chance have any example code (or could point to any) that demonstrates an array of notes that we could call in cpp to trigger any of the recently released synths? (could also be blueprints, but personally i’m digging into cpp lately).