recently, after noticing a rapid daily decrease of free space on my project hard drive, I’ve learned that UE4 by default employs Autosave and Backup system. These are manifested as Saved/Autosave and Saved/Backup folders inside project folder. I am a bit confused about how exactly these work, as there appears to be only limited control over them and yet, if you change a lot of content in the game in a very short amount of time, it can literally generate gigabytes of data a day.
I’ve found out I can disable Autosave feature, which I should not do if I want to be able to recover from crashes without much lost work. However, its the Backup folder I am more concerned about. Here are my questions:
1, I am noticing that both Autosave and Backup folders save multiple states of the same asset. I’d always expect Autosave to store only the latest one while Backup should store all the iterations. Why is there overlap between the two? Why does Autosave appear to partially do the same thing as Backup, storing multiple versions, not just the latest one?
2, Is there any way to disable Backup, not Autosave?
3, What exactly triggers Backup to store a version of the asset? Is it any change? Or is there some timer on top of that?
4, Is Backup ever automatically cleaned? Or do you have to clean it up manually otherwise it will keep going until the drive is full?
5, There appears to be some parse-friendly time stamping of the filenames in Backup folders, which implies some built in system to recover older versions. Does UE4 have some built in versioning tool where you can revert to older version? Or do you have to manually reimport the backed up asset from the Backup folder by hand?