Need help setting up an 8 way roll dodge blend space

I’ve watched many tutorials and read many threads about dodges and rolls but cannot seem to find any about making an 8 direction roll blend space. Is this even possible? I’ve saw a few comments on some of the vids stating it would have been much easier to make a blend space for the rolls and not using individual pathways for each key. I want to use my left alt key as the combat roll button that together with the direction I’m going by pressing W A S or D translates into a roll animation played. I’ve set that input and done some experimenting but have not had much luck either way (other than laying out 8 roll animations in BS and seeing them work). Just please be patient with me I’m extremely new to UE. I have working crouch and idle/walk/run blend states with animations for my character (not UE mannequin). Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

1 Like

I would properly ask this as a question but do not have enough post karma to be allowed to do so yet.

Blendspaces should be used for constant directional animation (idle/walk/jog/run etc). Action animations … one offs like dives/rolls etc should be done via montage…in a majority of cases. Using montages would also help keep your statemachine(s) cleaner.

Assuming you’re using the character movement component… movement direction is determined by input scale value.

See project settings -> Engine -> Input -> Axis Mappings

axismappings.jpg

movementinputs.jpg

When you press W/Up you’re inputting MoveForward = 1.0 … S/Down = -1.0
When you press D/Right you’re inputting MoveRight = 1.0 … A/Left = -1.0

• No input = 0

MoveForward (1), MoveRight (1) = Forward Right
MoveForward (1), MoveRight (-1) = Forward Left
MoveForward (0), MoveRight (1) = Right Strafe
MoveForward (0), MoveRight (-1) = Left Strafe
etc

You can use these values to set a new var (int) as a controlling state for which roll montage you want to play.