Need Help Programming

My previous helper decided to diss my game and not help me anymore with programming, so I’m looking for a new teacher and assistant.

As you can see below, I’m trying to program my “field of attack”, and I show above the graph my two blueprints where I’ve coded thus far. I need serious help as I am a complete beginner. I need to know where I go from here on in order to achieve my goal.

Can anyone explain the significance of a “Break Transform”?

A Transform is a structure. In Blueprints, structures can be assembled via pins with “Make” nodes, and broken into pins with “Break” nodes.

Transform structures contain Translation (delta Location) as Vector, Rotation as Rotator, and Scale as Vector, so all “Break Transform” does is lets you access those properties as pins.

2 Likes

Trying to get help on this website is like going fishing – you just sit there for hours waiting for something to bite onto your lure, and because of that I’m going back to sleep. See you folks later.

OK, now what is the function of a “Subtraction” in Blueprint?

The “Subtraction” node performs the mathematical operation of Subtraction on numbers, in this case, of type float.

1 Like

So what’s the purpose of a subtraction being connected to a break rotator? Does it subtract from the player’s rotation, and thus identify the direction that the player’s facing towards?

May I suggest you watch more unreal engine youtube videos. If you have watched any you would have seen print string used in many of them. Essentially use it for debugging your code, finding out what value is in a variable at a given time, for example.

I highly recommend you look at this guy’s youtube channel where he explains almost every blueprint node:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOVfF7PfLbRdVEm0hONTrNQ

1 Like

Sure, that makes sense, but the Blueprints Topic exists for a reason.