Need help converting FString to wchar_t

This is probably a beginner problem as I am relatively new to C++.

Short version: I need to convert an FString to a wchar_t. I don’t know how to do this and was hoping someone here could come to the rescue.

The longer version: Now that code plugins are on the Marketplace, I figured this was a good time to toy around with the LCD display on my Logitech G19. Unfortunately for me, the Logitech SDK plugin does not have its functionality exposed to blueprints.

Having created a few basic blueprint nodes earlier I decided to try my hand at this. I’ve now stumbled upon an issue. Many of the functions provided by the plugin takes wchar_t parameters. Blueprints can’t handle this natively, so I figured the best option here is to put a FString input in the blueprint input. In the C++ function for the node I’d convert the FString to a wchar_t and pass it along to the Logitech SDK functions.

As mentioned before I am still fairly new to C++ programming, and don’t have the slightest clue on how to go about achieving this.

FString MyFooString = TEXT(“foofoo”);

TCHAR* tchar_is_wchar_t_under_the_hood = *MyFooString;

Track typedefs:

typedef FPlatformTypes::TCHAR TCHAR; ///< Either ANSICHAR or WIDECHAR, depending on whether the platform supports wide characters or the requirements of the licensee.
typedef WIDECHAR TCHAR; // A switchable character - In-memory only. Either ANSICHAR or WIDECHAR, depending on a licensee’s requirements.
typedef wchar_t WIDECHAR; // A wide character - In-memory only. ?-bit fixed-width representation of the platform’s natural wide character set. Could be different sizes on different platforms.

1 Like

What Pierdek said. Also you may want to bookmark this page (and the other String pages on the Wiki). It’s great for quick reference.