Need a little direction on starting the learning process

First off I want to say that I have basically zero programming or any type of game engine experience. I’ve always wanted to get into creating games. For the last few months I’ve been looking around at game engines to see which one I wanted to dive into. I was set on unity for a while until I found out about Unreal Engine 4. It just looks so user friendly and polished plus the blueprint system looked awesome. I bought it last week but have only had a few hours to play with it. I can already tell I will be needing to learn A LOT as I don’t understand 90% of it, lol (I figured that’s how it would be for me anyway). I’m an IT Admin so I’m very comfortable with computers and really want to learn UE4.

I guess my question is where should I begin? I’ve been reading the Docs put out for Unreal and the tutorials and can follow along with them but they really don’t teach me the foundation I need to build from. They are great for “put this here to make this happen” but I need to take a step back and learn what those “functions” even mean so I can do it myself. Should I just pick up a C++ book and go from there?
Also regarding the Unreal Editor itself, I want to learn about the basic level of what everything means.

Example: “Place a Lightmass Importance Volume into the level.” – That’s all fine and dandy but I have no clue why I would be doing this or what it does. I guess I need to learn about game mechanics or something like that, I’m not sure.

Thanks for the help and I can’t wait to really get cracking 

First of all you should think about what you want to reach, because then the learning process will differ a little bit -> e.g do you want to work in the industry or do you just want to develope your own game?
By the way, you can also add me at Skype, there you can ask me questions and I will try to answer them :wink: ()