Nav Mesh Bounds Best Practices

I’m currently working on a CTF map for the new Unreal Tournament, and I’m coming up on the first release version very soon.

However, I’m a bit new to working with nav meshes, and I’ve got some best practice type concerns.

First, it should be known that I have a rather large persistent level, which contains an elaborate matinee cutscene and some fancy special effects. I then have the remainder of the map’s assets distributed among eleven streaming levels. It’s come time to finalize the map’s nav mesh, and I’m curious about the following issues:

• For small levels, I’ve always used a single NavMeshBounds object to encapsulate the entire level. However, due to the size of this level, the bounds of such a box are 35000 x 50000 x 10000. Building navigation on a box that size takes an immense amount of time; so much time that I usually get impatient around the 35 minute mark and attempt to close the editor (which always just crashes not only the editor, but my entire computer). Am I better off just allowing this to complete? I know I need a better computer… but, ****! The editor is completely unresponsive during this process (seems frozen at Building Navigation (1).)

• An alternative would be to split up the NavMeshBounds, and use multiple volumes to more tightly cover my intended surface area. Is this a viable workaround, and would it have any noticeable impact on navigation build times?

• If using multiple volumes is viable, my solution would likely end up requiring quite a few volumes. Is it possible to place NavMeshBounds objects into streaming levels, or must they be part of the persistent level?

• I’ve gone around the map and ensured that only intended objects affect the nav mesh, giving me a mostly clean build all around. However, nav mesh on terrain is awful! (It’s also one of the reasons I think my build is taking so long…). Is there a way to optimize terrain for nav mesh builds? Just go in and smooth it out, I guess?