My Get Player Character node is missing

Hello,

I am a novice and I have some issue with Get Player Character Node. I can’t find it. I was wondering If I have to download it but I did not find some download links.

Can u guys help with this little problem?

The photo of not finding Get Player Character Node

First off, you can’t always type exactly what you might expect into that box. So try parts of the phrase. Just ‘player char’, stuff like that.

The other thing is, it really depends on where you’re calling that menu from. Many places would be ok, but not all nodes are available in all places. What BP are you in ( what type )?

Well, I follow a youtube tutorial where I should make my first FPS game, I tried to type only player character, player, character… stuff like this but never found what I was looking for.
I was following the tutorial step by step and I already checked if I made mistake somewhere, but no. I did everything correct.

Ok, but where are you when you type that. In the character, in another BP, in a material? …

What blueprint are you trying to get character from? The only reason you wouldn’t be able to find that node is generally if you’re trying to call it in a blueprint where it has no use.

Hey SpongiOfficial,

Just a quick sanity check. I know that you are following a tutorial but are you pulling off of a pin and dropping before searching? If so, try just right clicking an open part of the graph before searching. Pulling off of a pin before searching will also narrow down what nodes will appear.

Here is an example of what I think you may be doing wrong. See how the execution pin has been dragged out? Is this what you are doing?

I second this issue. I believe I am following the same tutorial, found here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJpfLkEsoek (skip to 6:10)