My first person character floats mid air.

Hi, I’m very new to Unreal & I’m trying to do a simple FPS prototype.

I created a blank project at first, and then I imported all the assets I need. And then I created a first person game mode with simple controls. But for some reason, my character floats mid-air. I think it has something to do with the collision but I can’t figure it out.

Character floating:

Collisions overview:

If I place my playerstart in a smaller room, it places me here and I can’t move:

If you need any more info to provide let me know.
Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Are you sure using Character class? It seams you’ve selected Pawn with FloatingPawnMovement as Default Pawn in your GameMode instead of Character.

You can look at the FPS Shooter by Epic as an example.

I went back and made sure. I used a very simple character blueprint that uses the default input mappings. It seems that’s not the problem :confused:
Character Blueprint

That’s good. Have you tried opening empty level with just a plane? That would help to understand is it some problem with a character or level instead.

If you imported your environment as a single static mesh, your character will be blocked by the combined collision, thus won’t be able to move. If the player start is placed outside the scene, then player will be floating around, blocked from entering, or walking above/below the scene. If it is placed inside, player will be locked.