My first game deORBIT has been released! UDK 3.5 > UE 4 > UE 4.8

Oh man where do I start… I guess from UDK ?
I worked on deORBIT for more than two years and I began by knowing nothing but 3D modelling.

The player was supposed to fix stuff and solve word puzzles.

The ship was supposed to have a complex system that kept it running.

But that seemed like a way to small of an area for a fun game so I started expanding it

I created an asteroid which the player would explore and have more place for activities. The limitation of kismet was real then and I started learning unrealscript. That was around November or December.
Around January I had made a hud and a “stick” that allowed the player to break some doors by removing chunks between the end point and the pivot.

Then in March UE4 dropped like a bomb an I was blown by the power of Blueprints and I had an american friend that was going to do the music and voice for the game. Things were looking up!

7.jpg
I scrapped the whole UDK project but the static meshes and some materials and began the UE4 Journey.
Implemented destruction again, even posted somethings on UE4 AnswerHub about the destructible components not being garbage collected, after fracture I think…

I was really happy with the smoke effects I was getting .
7.jpg

Then I started developing some simple quests and repairing missions.

8.jpg

A giant problem I had was that the child blueprints were loosing all the data and that sucked so hard. But time passed the engine got more updates and I managed to improve my scripting skills and the problem was solved.

9.JPG

The problem was that the game was kind of dead, there wasn’t anything going on. So I scrapped the project and took a 6 month break for working on it.
January came and I had new ideas how to bring life to the game.