My early hours with Unreal and Quixel - sharp corners and workflow questions

Hi everybody,

I wanted to share my early experience learning Unreal Engine, with a focus on using Quixel Megascan assets. I ran into more problems than I expected - some that stopped my progress until I found a workaround, and others that just confused me.

I don’t work in game development, though I am a software developer. The issues I ran into are entirely the sorts of things that, in my professional life, would be easily resolved by a quick chat with a more experienced coworker, but I am flying solo here.

Hopefully my little narrative will help some future beginners. I would also love to hear from others what their workflow looks like for handling external assets.

For all of this, I am using Unreal Engine 4.26 and Quixel Bridge 2020.4.2

First: The Vanilla Approach, Exporting Directly from Quixel Bridge

I started with what looked like the easiest path: using the export feature built into the Quixel Bridge app. Using all default settings, I exported a 3d asset from Bridge to the Unreal Editor (the “Sandstone Canyon Rock,” chosen approximately at random).

I immediately ran into my first issue: a warning, “No smoothing group information was found in this FBX scene. Please make sure to enable the ‘Export Smoothing Groups’ option in the FBX Exporter plug-in before exporting the file. Even for tools that don’t support smoothing groups, the FBX Exporter will generate appropriate smoothing data at export-time so that correct vertex normals can be inferred while importing.”

As far as I can tell, Bridge has no such option. Some quick googling suggested I could just ignore this warning, but I was still unsure: should I just expect to get this warning every time I import some meshes? Does this mean my vertex normals are messed up? Is there any way to eliminate this warning? I decided to ignore and move on.