My CPU hits 100% usage on opening a project

I’ve searched around the forums and have found similar problems but all different enough that i couldn’t find a clear answer.
I’m brand new to UE4, so new that i cant even open a starter project.Opening a project freezes at 39% and sends my CPU usage to 100%. I’ve followed the steps on other similar problems and as far as i know: My GPU is up to date and selected as default device for UE4, and my hardware should be more than adequate to run UE4.

I’m not sure why I am having this problem.
Intel I5 6600k 3.50ghz
16.0gb ram
Nvidia GTX 1070
windows 10

If this is the very first time you’re opening the editor, do give it a while (more than several minutes may be necessary). It will be much faster the second time round.

Your hardware is more than capable.

okay thank you, ill open it and just be patient.

I am getting the same issue i am getting 100% Cpu usage while opening a free Blueprint
ActionRpg 2 help me fix this…

My Specs are:
i7 -9750H
16 GB RAM
1tb ssd
Nvidia Rtx 2070

In task manager, open the dropdown “>” left to the UE4Editor to see, which different Threads are running. Most likely, you will see multiple “Shader Compiler” lines here. If this is the case, all is fine, because shaders need to be compiled first, and these might be thousands of them, so it takes some time on a newly opened project.

hey bro,
are u sure my pc wont crash then i will take ur word then approx how much time i should wait

I did wait even more than one hour for some projects.

ok buddy thanks… for ur info

Im having the same issue.
How do I find the problem?
I recently upgraded my CPU and reinstalled windows

cpu i9900k,
ram 32gb 3733mhz,
ssd,
win 10,
When loading a project, i get bsod after hanging at 39% for a while
Had similar problem when building lighting.