My acct was temporarily locked

I got an email today saying my account was temporarily locked due to multiple failed login attempts.

Here’s the thing though. I use a unique password for this account that is not used any place other than here. I had 2 factor enabled but did NOT get an email with a code sent to my email account. I was still logged in here on the forums when I opened them today.

I don’t remember enabling 2 factor but I must have. Why was no code sent on the very first login attempt?

I am having the same issue, and it is worrisome for a different reason: It represents a vulnerability in the Unreal Engine itself.

I have seen similar posts in other forums (which I am not allowed to respond to, because I am a developer and I don’t game on this account) and the general pattern seems to be that bots are cycling through accounts trying passwords at random hoping they will get in. There are multiple ways to enter passwords, so they probably are not even trying to use two-factor to login (because of course they would not be able to guess that), hence why you wouldn’t get a notification. In short, the account is secure. There’s no way someone could break into your account that way.

The real problem is that it technically means that anyone can shut down any account they like as often as they like simply by knowing the email address associated with the account. One could very easily, for example, program a bot shut down an entire company that uses the Unreal Engine simply by knowing the email addresses that the company uses in association with the Unreal Engine. The boy would just need to make X failed attempts every 2 hours forever and they would no longer be able to proceed with any work. That’s a very VERY serious vulnerability with many possible solutions. I have seen bots do that with older systems and they really don’t want to be subject to that attack.