Multiple ways to control Player Character Walk Speed

https://forums.unrealengine.com/core/image/gif;base64
​​Hi Guys,

I’m currently developing a side scroller game on very early stages and I’m new to game development. At the moment, I have a main character able to switch walking speeds via 2 different keybinds:

Default speed: WALKING
**Press Caps Lock: **JOGGING (press it again, back to walking)
**Press Shift: **RUNNING (press it again, back to walking)

166b14a5b94fbb525f74275805f70bf429fe75c2.jpeg

The above solution is not really what I wanted as it can be very cumbersome to deal with. Ideally I want 2 ways to be able to control the character speed:

1. Using a single key to toggle between all 3 stages ( WALK / JOG / RUN )
  2. Gradually increase/decrease the character speed by turning the mouse wheel up and down

Does any of you guys know a way to do the solutions I’d like to have in my game by using blueprints?

Thanks in advance!

For the first one, Make an integer variable and add increment code to the input action. So when you press toggle, using branches, it’ll check what number you’re at [0] and add 1, setting walk speed to next state.
You hit it again, [1] and itll add 1, setting walk speed to 3rd state. You hit it again, and it’ll go through your branch, and see that integer == 2, so it sets integer back to 0 and walk speed to original state.

For the second one, get [mouse wheel up] and [mouse wheel down] input events. When you scroll mouse wheel up, it’ll fire every “tick” of the scroll. Create a walk speed variable to plug into the set walk speed node and increment that, setting walk speed after.