Download

Multiple blueprints per actor? (composition vs inheritance)

I just now realized something. We can only have one blueprint per actor.

I knew something was bothering me but I was having fun learning blueprints so it didn’t strike me.

Let me give you some background, I have been a game programmer for a LONG time. Back when we were working on Worms, we had a hell of a time thinking of how to structure the various weapons because the code ended up heavily inheritance based and quite often ended up where lots of functionality was pushed up the inheritance tree as we needed it in various use cases. This in the end was pretty bad and not very maintainable. When I left Team17 I looked for another way of structuring game code and started thinking about compartmentalization and eventually composition. I came up with a component system for my own game engine I was working on as an indie, having many conversations with other people who were doing the same kind of thing.

Fast forward a few years and I evaluate Unity and lo and behold it uses a composition based approach with components in almost an exact replica I’d been using. Only with the added benefit of live reload. It is VERY productive to use composition because you can code narrow scope features and then composite more complex behavior by simply adding/removing components. You tie components together by either delegates/events/message (better for interop) or via reference (better for performance).