Moving "topdown camera" with mouse input.

Hi!
I’m new to unreal engine 4, so I thought to start with something simple.
I got the idea to make a simple kind of “topdown 3d strategy game”, but I have problems with the camera moving.
I’ve placed the camera in a nice rotation angle, but I wan’t the player to be able to right-click and move the mouse to move the camera sideways, forward and backward and zoom with the scroll wheel (with the “level blueprint” system).
I can’t figure out what nodes I shall have and how I shall place them so that that’s possible (remember I’m new).
I’ve made a new function and then a timer in the “Event graph”, in which I’ve activated looping and sat the time to 0.001 second.

Best regards
TheDDestroyer12

EDIT: I’m not sure if anything that I’ve done is right!

• Well first I would create my own Camera and use the Level Blueprint to “Set View Target with Blend” on Level Start to my own camera.

• Second I would get a boolean if the Right Mouse Button was klicked

• Every Tick I would check if that boolean is true and if so I would get the camera location and a node “Convert Mouse Location to World Space”, break the vector so camera just move in two directions and move or lerp the camera to the mouse position

• For Scrolling I would lower the cameras z and clamp it to a min and a max value. I actually never did that but I don’t see why it shouldn’t work.

Hi!
I’ve changed my plans a little, so I wan’t the camera to rotate around a special point, like the middle of a sphere (a planet).
Is there any easy ways of changing the way you told me so that it rotates like that instead?
By the way, shall I keep the timer and set it to about 0.001 seconds and add the function for checking if RMB is down to it?

Sure.

• On Event Begin Play change the camera to your custom camera with a Set View Target with Blend
  • Place a “Right Mouse Button” Block and add a boolean to both pressed and released (true for pressed and false for released)