Moving from UDK to UE4(pointers)

Hi guys…

I started learning Unreal Script 3 months back and was kind of ok with it. When UE4 got released I decided to switch engines. But now I am feeling as if I hit a wall. I need little help in understanding pointers. Generally the documentation and the wiki didn’t help me a lot. I know what c++ pointers are though.

Here is a small code from 3rd person which I want to start learning from.

UPROPERTY(VisibleAnywhere, BlueprintReadOnly, Category=Camera)
	TSubobjectPtr<class USpringArmComponent> CameraBoom;

From what I understood, this creates a pointer of the class SpringArmComponent which

* This component tried to maintain its children at a fixed distance from the parent,
 * but will retract the children if there is a collision, and spring back when there is no collision.

I need help to understand what this do. And how does “->” work…

// Create a camera boom (pulls in towards the player if there is a collision)
	CameraBoom = PCIP.CreateDefaultSubobject<USpringArmComponent>(this, TEXT("CameraBoom"));
	CameraBoom->AttachTo(RootComponent);
	CameraBoom->TargetArmLength = 300.0f; // The camera follows at this distance behind the character	
	CameraBoom->bUseControllerViewRotation = true; // Rotate the arm based on the controller

And this part

// Create a follow camera
	FollowCamera = PCIP.CreateDefaultSubobject<UCameraComponent>(this, TEXT("FollowCamera"));
	FollowCamera->AttachTo(CameraBoom, USpringArmComponent::SocketName); // Attach the camera to the end of the boom and let the boom adjust to match the controller orientation

See this Wiki thread. explained pointers extremely well including why we should use it and the advantages.

He also explains about those signs like “->” and “::” etc.

I had read it I still had doubts.

Like what is

CameraBoom = PCIP.CreateDefaultSubobject<USpringArmComponent>(this, TEXT("CameraBoom"));

Mostly from what I understand, it creatures a instance of the class SpringArmComponent

And here,