Moving and performing action when in action range

Hello everyone,

First things first, I’m an UE noob. I’m trying to make a simple mechanic similar to Diablo 3/ POE / Torchlight style topdown ARPGs where, when I click an object, I will move there and perform an action. If the object is a weapon, I will pick it up. If the object is an enemy, I will attack. If none of those, just move.

I laid down the logic here:

And then I implemented this in my PlayerCharacter according to the logic above:

Right now the only problem is that when I’m not in range of the object, the Player moves to clicked location ( object location) and stops. I have to click again to pick up the weapon or attack the enemy. How would I do this so that while moving towards the object I check if I’m in range, and when I’m in range I perform the action? So for instance I click the weapon and when I’m in range for picking up the weapon I pick it up without needing to click again.

Can anyone help with this? Like I said, I’m an UE noob.

Also a video if this helps understand the issue better:

Thank you !

You could measure the distance as you approach and trigger as soon as the condition is met. But, instead, you could experiment with something along the lines of:

• once an actor has been clicked on, have the interface spit out its reference (perhaps not every actor is worth approaching)
  • if it’s a valid interaction target, store its reference
  • the player has a sphere collision whose size is adjusted by the selected actor’s minInteractionRange var
  • as the player approaches, the sphere collision will eventually overlap (unless something blocks the way, ofc)
  • compare the selected actor with the one from the overlap → fire interface function to Interact

You can, of course, employ something a tad more nuanced than crude actor comparison:

• give the selected actor a DoThingsToMe tag
  • give the selected actor a DoThingsToMe flag