Movement breaks upon reloading level

I’m new to UE4, so I apologize if this question is somewhat noobish or has been answered already. I am facing issues with enabling movement after loading and entering a level, then re-entering the original level.

I’m playing with level loading and I’ve created a “hub” in the form of a hallway. When the hallway loads, I create a Player Start at an empty actor, and the player can freely roam. Then the player can click on a door to enter a room. This room loads as a separate level and not as a stream level because I need a separate Player Start for this room, and I need to lock my player’s movement and camera in my custom player controller:

308982-ignorecamera-blueprint.png

The branch to decide on movement options fires correctly here. After the player is done, I want them to click on a door leading back to the hallway.

The transition from the hallway to the room works properly, but after re-loading the hallway, I can’t move. I used Open Level to enter the hallway in the exact same way I did to exit, and I printed to console to check whether move input was being ignored, and checked the hierarchy to make sure all my actors were in the game, but everything checked out. The weird thing is that when I enter the hallway, my UI, variables, etc. load as expected - I just don’t know why the movement would work on the first spawn then break after reloading.

If it helps, I’m seeing an error in my log:

LogGameMode: FindPlayerStart: PATHS NOT DEFINED or NO PLAYERSTART with positive rating

Even though I check the hierarchy and the player start is there, and I got no such error when I began the game in the hallway.

Also, here is my level blueprint for the hallway. PlayerPawn is my custom Pawn for my Game Mode, and the actor with tag CanStart is where I wish to place my Player Start:

And that is done with the BeginPlay event. This event is for sure firing because the “Load Player Functions” at the end of that event fires.