More information about C++ for a job interview

Hello friends,

I’ve applied for a job interview and I will have a test about C++. I come from C# and know most of the stuff, but C++ has different things like “volatile” “friend”, etc etc. Different inheritance types …
I wonder where I can read more about them. I don’t have a problem googling about them. I just don’t know what I don’t know :smiley: Can someone point me out somewhere. I’m studying data structures right now. But I need more information on C++.

If you already know C# and know how to program, maybe you could try the “bible” of C++. “The C++ Programming Lenguage” by Bjarne Strousoup(the creator of c++ himself). That book might be the absolute densest thing ive seen in my life, but if you want to learn the “complicated” parts of c++ and what makes it unique, you should have a look at that book. Pretty much everything is on it. Another recommendation is the “Effective C++” series, but those are mostly for “style” and how to write better code, not to learn new stuff.

Hmm, I know what book. But it’s quite big to read until next wednesday haha. What question should I expect? I’m applying for a internship. They said they gonna teach me the fundamentals of C++ and then will move on more hard stuff.

As far as I know, they could ask about Abstract Data Structures in C++, like “How to reverse a SingleLinked List?”

Noted.

Oh a typo… I meant that* book :smiley:

It depends on the job you’re applying for.

Another stupid question could be “Difference between a struct and a class in C++”

Okay I got an email of what should I expect: “Basic operations on arrays and strings”. I suppose something like reversing lists, finding max/min values in them etc?

You’re fortunate. It’s very easy.

Well if you are familiar with pointers, you should know that the identifier of an array of X elementes is just a pointer to the first element of this array.