More complex geometry with brushes vs static meshes

I’m new to the Unreal engine, but make maps some years before with the leveleditors from Aliens vs Predator 2 and Doom 3.

I looked the whole maps from the free examples and see that the whole walls are static meshes.
I’m a little disapointed, that I have to use an external rendertool to create more complex geometry.
What I exactly mean is to create tubes/hoses with the cylinder brush or round geometry.

But maybe it is possible and I don’t know, so I have some questions:

1. if I create a Cylinder and put a material on it, the lighting and shadowing on the edges isn’t smooth, it is hard and angular
    so that it don’t looking like a round object. If I put a static mesh cylinder, the lighting and shadows is smooth and it looks like
    a round object. So it is able to have this with created brushes? At least for cylinder and spheres?

2. when I try to rotate and scale a face or the vertexes on the end of a cylinder in Geometry Editing mode, it doesn’t happen
    anything or the vertextes go to crazy places. Is this a bug or do I something wrong or the engine doesn’t have implemeted
    this?

3. about the static meshes, do static meshes block the visibilty of the objects behind it, or do I have to put a brush behind the static mesh? Want I mean is, that if a static mesh
    bocks my view, are the objects and brushes behind it still rendered?

Hi wARmAcH1n3,

Welcome to the forums and to using UE4! :slight_smile:

I’ll do my best to cover your questions and I’m sure some of our community members will jump in with some more input as well!

You should be made aware that BSP\Geometry brushes are primarily used for blocking out and rapid prototyping your level. A clear example of this is in Jim Brown’s Intro to Level Design. You can access this level yourself by opening the Content Examples project from Marketplace > Open Level > LevelDesign_workflow.umap.