Download

Modular Workflow with Blueprint?

Greetings friends,

Before UE4 was released, I had been doing a lot of dabbling in unity. I was attempting to learn some scripting (I’m an artist) as well as using third party assets to accomplish things.

While I feel that it will eventually be easier for me to accomplish the things I want to do in Blueprint, the one aspect I miss from Unity is the modular scripting workflow. For anyone that isn’t familiar with unity, the gist of it is that you can create small scripts (example, a script that controls sprinting(speed, stamina drain, etc)), and then attach them to your player character (or whatever else). In the end, you’d have several small scripts that each do something specific that you could go in and edit extremely easily because there’s not a billion other functions inside of it.

With blueprint, I’m already feeling like my player controller blueprint is getting extremely unwieldy.

My question is, am I just going about things wrong? Is there a way to achieve a similar “modular” workflow as I described above? I fully accept that I’m a complete novice with blueprint, so it may just be me not knowing enough about the system to make it modular, but I’d love to know if anyone has any suggestions in this regard.

Thanks!

First of all. A controller is not a requirement. It’s part of the default game framework. If you want to go another way, you can.

Secondly, movement is already separated in the default framework. It goes into the movement component, not the player controller.

I came to UE4 from pretty much the same situation as you it sounds like, and I think that you’re perhaps thinking about things in slightly the wrong way.
First, I want to recommend watching the videos on blueprint here if you haven’t already: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRhWc2kAhqI
They help quite a bit!