Modifying The Heck Out Of Character Movement?

Hey, all.

So I’m working on building a sci-fi game where there will be different planets (and such) with different gravity. I want that to effect everything from character movement to balistics. I also want to implement what I think are some very unique movements that I haven’t seen in games before. I’m just getting started and I figured the first thing I should work on is the character movement.

I followed a very basic tutorial just to set up a project and now I’m ready to start developing my custom movement. Now the basic tutorial did set up foward/back, strafing, camera movement, and jumping in the character class; and it just occured to me that I don’t even know the walking speed, jump height, etc… I want those to ultimately be modified based on, for example gravity. Like, lower gravity = higher jumping.

Before I even start on that how can I access and change the jump height, movement speed, etc.?

I did do a quick google search and got some results that showed me how to set up a custom movement mode class, but that class is completely blank and I have no idea where to start. I feel like I need to actually see the default movement code to know how to modify it to get the results I want.

Is there a way I can edit the CharacterMovementComponent? Which I think is a class the the tutorial code seems to referencing to get the basic functions? And if so, should I? Or would I be setting up a class that calls that one and modifies or overrides specific funtions from it?

CharacterMovementComponent is part of your CharacterClass. Most, if not all of what you want is already there for you.

I did this little mock-up in my character class just as an example

void ASBCharacter::BeginPlay()
{
    Super::BeginPlay();

UCharacterMovementComponent* CharMovement = GetCharacterMovement();
    if (CharMovement)
    {
        CharMovement->JumpZVelocity = MyFloat;
        CharMovement->MaxWalkSpeed = MyOtherFloat;
        etc...