Modeling for Unreal

I am working on a personal project in maya for unreal 4 and would like some feedback.

CONCEPT

I would like to know the best way to round off the smooth corners of my buildings. Bevel?

Here’s what I have so far, rendered out.

Wireframe
sandoria2.jpg

I’m a novice modeler and would like to know if there’s anything that I am starting to do wrong, thanks!

I don’t use Maya (and have no experience with it). I’m more of a Max guy. However, doesn’t it have a chamfer?

Yeah you’re going to want to play around with the bevel of the edges. From the looks of it your geometry seems fine, but you will no doubt have to clean up sometimes after using bevel depending on segment amount and width.

Thanks guys, I’m not sure if it has a chamfer or not actually. I’ll upload more photos once I bevel them and see how it turns out.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143512782/sandoria4.jpg

What’s up with that corner?

It looks like he just built with an assortment of forms, instead of extruding and shaping a single form.

That’s correct, that one is two seperate objects. It won’t be veiwable in the way I’m going to use it so I left it alone for now.

is it all one piece ?

if yes, you might want to separate it
in at least these parts:

Yeah it’s already separated into different parts but thanks man! :slight_smile: What I really need to know is how people handle getting rid of sharp edges on buildings for unreal. Do they bevel or is there some kind of way to get your smooth preview into unreal? What do people do to their sharp edges before planting their models in unreal?

Hi Ranok,

I’ve taken a few moments and made a simple models. I started with something that looks similar to the edge you modeled and then iterated it out so that you can see the differences I’ve added along the way.

The first is the base.