MMO Games and database servers? could this work?/what are the complications?

1. So currently i’m making a multiplayer game, which requires a data base to save the current inventory when the player logs out so that when they log back in it knows what
    they had last time. After some thinking i thought, could the following work/what are the complications; I currently have the server doing ALL the calculations thankfully
    and the client just calls server rpc’s to move etc, could i just add WITHIN a server rpc to fetch “steam name’s” inventory data on begin play (server -> database).
    is that a good method? if not what would work better?

2. Is it bad to fetch data based off of steam name or steam id?

P.S. I have no current knowledge on php or sql but i will learn it if i have to. Thanks.

I guess “MMO Game” means something like WoW. If that’s the case: I hope you are aware that the UE4 dedicated server isn’t capable of serving hundreds/thousands of players simultaneously. And there are other limitations concerning large open multiplayer worlds.

Anyway, to your question:
You can modify the server to connect to a database or some web service (there is even a plugin called VaREST for connecting to RESTful services using blueprints). But you will need to write some (C++) code.

Ok that’s fine because i men’t more like 100 players per server rather than 1000’s per server. Ill check those out thanks.

Not even 100. You can have 64 players per room.

Really? why is there a 64 player limit

You can have have more per server then 64. Look at the MMOKit they have tested with 400+ players per dedicated server. Also look at Ark, there are 150+ player Ark servers. So no UE4 Dedicated servers are not limited to 64 players only.

This was actually the limit in UE3/UDK, so people that worked with that may still have this number in their heads :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Thank god, 64 player limit is a pretty poor number for 2015. Thanks for clearing that up.