MetaHuman Feature Thoughts

So far I’ve had a lot of fun with the creator, though I think there could be some really neat features/sliders added to cater towards more “planned” characters.

In my instance, I was using it as a test to create some renditions of family and friends. One of the issues I ran into, that upon sharing my creations with people I know is that they felt that the people I created, who were all white, had, and I’m quoting these people, “Asian-descent eyes”. I did what I could to match my MetaHumans to their references, but there are obviously some intricacies that aren’t there yet. Below is a MetaHuman of one of my friends.

Instead of us picking from a list of existing characters to start from, it what be interesting to just have some basic things to choose - Sex, Age Range, and Ethnicity. Age Range would I feel correlate in some fashion to the Texture slider under Skin, which right now is a nightmare for me to try and get where I want it.
My background is more Environment and Prop Art, so for me, I see this tool as a potential avenue for being able to create characters for my scenes and personal projects, and to hopefully one day have this be a one-stop-shop for creating characters in the future. I’m by no means a character artist, so I know that there are some people who are probably taking these as base meshes and refining them elsewhere, but my hope is that this would one day be a thing akin to a more advanced Fuse, and allow for full customization on every level.

Looking forward to seeing where this all goes!

These are based on real people, and I believe the blending aspect, rather than starting from scratch, is intended to retain the physical plausibility between different face types, and keep things anatomically consistent. I’ve yet to see a MetaHuman pass into the uncanny valley in a bad way, which means it succeeds where needed.