Melee proving grounds, a multi-player learning project

Hello everyone, My name is Christian Tucker (Who would have guessed) and I’m a freelance developer. I mainly work on hybrid mobile applications using JavaScript and HTML5 however spend most of my free time working on games. I’m a personal fan of online gaming and have zero interest in single-player applications. What’s the point in playing alone? I have tons of experience working in Java where I have written most of my server software for all of my games, and then some experience with C# due to my years working with the Unity Engine.

I have a friend that has picked up the Unreal Engine and is aspiring to become a game developer, and I decided to go ahead and pick up the engine and eventually over time see what we could create.

“Melee proving grounds” (Name subject to change) is just a personal learning project that will be using prototypical assets and similuate a real-time action based combat melee experience. I’m going to be introducing a few different classes into the game with a basic skill-set that will allow for style-based gameplay. Class names are strongly influenced by Tera as I’ve too lazy to name them myself. Just placeholder names to give you guys an idea of what to expect. Each class will have four abilities which can be bound to any key. The classes are not meant to be “balanced” at the moment and very little thought was put into the actual aspect of the game. This is just a learning project and my first project with Unreal to get used to it while transitioning from Unity.

Game modes:

• Team death match
  • Free for all
  • Capture the flag

Character classes:

• Slayer - Wield a greatsword as a weapon, light defence.

• Sword slam - Slam the sword down on enemies onfront of you, causes a short stun

• Shockwave - Swing your sword at amazing speeds creating shockwaves damaging enemies within a set range.

• Leaping Swing - Jump a short distance swinging the axe infront of you.