Maya animation not bound to poly in UE4

Hello,

I’m kind of a beginner in animation and UE4 and this is my first post on the forum.
I have been struggling for some days on a basic animation that I export in FBX from Maya to UE4. The animation consists of two doors moving left and right from a central frame.
Here is how it looks in the end in Maya:

Sadly, once imported in UE4 what happens is that the joins move but not the doors. Here is how it looks in the end in UE4:

As you can see the doors are still closed even though the joins did move. For information I used the “Smooth Bind” command in Maya to bind the joins to the left and right doors.

Obviously I’m looking for some help here. As a beginner I guess I did a lot of things wrong but I don’t know what, when, and where. I spent some time with tutorials and videos, I also took a good look at the documentation related to FBX pipline but I saw very little info that could relate to a simple case like mine.

Thanks in advance for any help you could provide, let me know if you need more info.
John

I don’t see why this should have any issues. The only thing I see that kinda irks me, is that you have the Root inside a transform group. I would recommend always leaving it at the root of the scene to avoid problems.

Apart from that however, this should work. Care to share the scene?

Having the exact same issue. Would love to know the answer to this! In same boat experience-wise as well.

Would it matter if my rigged mesh in maya that’s animated is not centered on the grid? I’ve tried baking the bones, baking the mesh, baking in the FBX settings, turning off animation, leaving it on, as well a a variety of other settings and I can’t seem to figure this one out.

Thanks for any help on this guys!

I reproduced the effect with a simple scene I’ve attached. If anyone could take a look to see what I’m doing wrong that would be really awesome :).

I tried 2 methods of export from Maya, they both are explained below -