Maya? 3dsmax? What do you use to rig and animate.

Is ther a rig and animation kit for 3ds max? and if not do you prefer to use maya with the rig and animation toolkit provided by Epic? Tryign to figure out the easiest and best way to do it

You don’t need to buy anything extra. 3ds Max already has some similar tools to the plugin that Epic has for Maya, so whatever program you choose it can rig and animate just fine. Including Blender, which is free, though from what I understand it’s not particularly simple to export from Blender to UE4 but it’s very easy using Maya and 3ds Max.

Hate to ask but you knwo of any tutorials showing me hwo to rig in 3ds max? I built a model finally cant figure out the rigging at all tried to use mixamo auto rigger but it doesnt work right for my character lol

Rigging is actually not that difficult, there’s default rigs available in 3ds Max like Biped and CAT (Character Animation Toolset)
Weighting, is more difficult, at least for me I’m not very good at weighting the mesh. I used Mixamo and it gave me better results than what I’ve been able to do. Ultimately it comes down to using the Skin modifier and learning how best to setup the weights so that things deform properly.

On my character when I upload to mixamo it has a bulge in the groin area wierdly. and the mixamo agent said its because the model has genetals but I erased the genitals and it is still doing the weird bulge thing lol Dont know what the heck is causing it now.

Rig in 3ds Max animate in Motion Builder = life is good.

We’ve switched from Blender to Maya LT.

There are many reasons, including that Maya has always been in production studios (a heck of a lot more than Blender anyways,) Maya has a lot of professional training solutions which you can adapt from the full version to the newer LT version.